Blackened Fish Sandwich with Mango Mayo

Blackened Fish Sandwiches

The stuff:

  • Cod filets (or Tilapia)
  • French rolls
  • Leaf lettuce
  • Sliced tomato
  • Avocado
  • Old Bay Seasoning  (or your favorite blackening mix)
  • Mango, small dice
  • Mayonnaise
  • sourcream
  • Lemon juice
  • Cilantro
  • Cucumber, peeled, seeded, small-dice
  • Butter

What  I did:

Dip the fish in melted butter, then sprinkle with Old Bay. Cook on a very hot, barely greased cast iron skillet until blackened and cooked enough to flake. Mix a mayo-salsa. You’ll notice there are no amounts here. Base it on if you want this more mayo/sour creamy or more fruity and around how many you’re serving. So mix the mango, half-n-half sour cream, cucumber, cilantro, and a squirt of lemon. By the way, you can’t really dice a mango, so cut as much off the pit as you can for the sauce and then, when no one is looking, scrape the rest of the sweet flesh off with your teeth and lick up all the juice.  Never waste a shred of ripe mango.  Spread the mango-mayo sauce on French rolls generously. Add sliced avocado, a lettuce leaf, a slice of tomato. Add the fish.

Eat it. I served it with potato chips and sliced cantaloupe. It really needs an ice cold Corona and lime but alas, I’m fresh out. Did the kids like it? Well, they moaned and begged for seconds so I think that’s a “yes”.

**Improvements: next time I’ll use French hoagie rolls…these are drippy! Also, I’ll use my blackening blend rather than Old Bay because it’s less salty. I *almost* added slices of havarti cheese and I might try that next time.

I had lots of the Mango Mayo left and mine is very creamy. Tomorrow night I’ll probably use it up over grilled chicken.

About tiajulianna

Creative spirit with a soul that is healing; inquisitive mind, maternal heart and very stubborn redhead who believes People Are Beautiful.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blackened Fish Sandwich with Mango Mayo

  1. Sounds great. What’s in Old Bay?

    • tiajulianna says:

      Old Bay is primarily celery salt, red pepper, and paprika. It’s pretty spicy and too salty imo. I much prefer my own blackening blend but I was a little lazy :-). Old Bay is best when used as a light sprinkle or in the water to boil crabs. But for a busy-night-dinner, this worked :-).

Leave a Reply

